Why was I scared of a safety razor?

Ugh. Hair removal. I noticed one of my 10 year old students had hairy legs the other day, and she’s just walking around in her shorts, totally rocking her mountain-pine pins. I was so envious. I wish I could get away with that!

But that is not the way for us grown up women, and so I shave or epilate all the places I’m not supposed to be hairy. Now old me thought she was so green for using a popular razor named after the Greek goddess of love, because I just replaced the head, instead of throwing the whole thing out. New me knows that’s bollocks.
(Even worse, after losing my razor while travelling, I started buying the completely disposable ones. I’ve spent the past few months using them up while researching what to replace them with.)

image

I went almost blind reading razor reviews and eventually decided on this, an Edwin Jagger chrome double edged razor. And I’ve got to say I’m very happy with it. You can read my review here.

Easier: well its definitely easier to clean than a disposable razor, and it’s exactly the same to use.
cheaper: My razor plus blades enough for 10 months will cost me a total of £21. My old disposable razor and enough blades for ten months used to cost me £22. And the blade refills? The razor blade refills are £3 for a pack of 5, whereas the cartridges are £7 for only 4. Double the price and not any better for it!
More stylish: I’ve got to admit that I do feel a hell of a lot sexier using my double-edged razor than I did with my disposable. and it does a better job on my armpits than the disposable! Result!

2 thoughts on “Why was I scared of a safety razor?

  1. This morning I was literally just thinking about how to replace my disposable razor since I can’t bare to use my epilator on my armpits! Thanks for this 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment