Toothpaste

Make your own natural toothpaste for a fraction of the cost.

I’m a tea and coffee drinking, red wine lover with sensitive teeth. And confession time… I HATE brushing my teeth. Yep. I do…or rather I did….until I started brushing with homemade. I’ve tried out two different recipes over the past month and I’m a convert for life now.

image

The salt is optional but apparently very good for your teeth.
Another recipe which uses coconut oil has been adapted from Lauren Singers blog trash is for tossers I add salt for it mineralising properties and as a throat aid (us teachers are cursed with sore throats) and I’ve read that the coconut oil also has both antibacterial and even whitening properties! (I noticed a whitening effect after only a week) So if you can get hold of coconut oil, give the next recipe a try.

image

  • Easier: When I’m running out, my kitchen is way more convenient than a trip to the shops, and I always have enough of these ingredients in the cupboard. You can brush before or after breakfast…it doesnt matter at all. And when my water was off the other day, I could still brush without needing to rinse my mouth out. I also don’t have any problems with it frothing out of my mouth and drip-staining my clean clothes!
  • Cheaper: the basic recipe is SUPER cheap, like 1 Lira for 2 weeks worth of toothpaste. The Coconut oil recipe costs around 5 Lira per fortnight but the average whitening toothpaste here costs double that… so its still miles cheaper.
  • Healthier: My sensitive teeth are actually whiter, and stronger, and less sensitive since I started using this recipe.

THE IMPACT IT’S HAVING

Ok, so the tubes are not recyclable and therefore an automatic landfill plastic, but did you also know that many toothpastes contain microbeads? A cheap manufacturing trick which uses abrasive little plastic beads as exfoliates,  which are then washed out to sea and into the stomachs of water-based animals?  And did you know that Fluoride is actually a very effective poison? Why are we putting poison in our bodies twice a day???

image

It takes less than 5 minutes to make, and less than 5 brushes before you’ll be convinced.

Leave a comment